Ultimate magazine theme for WordPress.

Cricket News 2023 | Cricket bosses back controversial Mankad bowling tactic

0

Cricket NSW has become the first state organization to publicly announce its support for Mankad.

In a statement on Thursday, the CNSW said the move was both legal and ethical, and that match officials and volunteers “must be supported to uphold the relevant laws of the game.”

In an effort to make the rule more palatable to purists, the ICC last year moved the appendix to the rules that covered Mankad from the area covering ‘foul play’ to the area describing racing as a mode of dismissal. .

FOLLOW LIVE: Australia v South Africa, third day of testing

READ MORE: Australian pioneer immortalized in world premiere

READ MORE: Warner reveals his retirement wish with Khawaja

CNSW chief executive and former New Zealand Test captain Lee Germon said any player who did the deed would have the organization’s full support.

“For a bowler to burn out a batter who is trying to gain an unfair advantage by leaving the crease before the ball has been delivered is both fair and legal,” he said.

“There’s no two way about it, and we want our players, match officials and volunteers to know that they have our full support in upholding the laws of cricket, in this case and all others.

“The pressure on match officials, most of whom are wonderful volunteers, to deal with something that evokes so many emotions is unnecessary.

“The law is clear and we want officials to feel supported knowing this and not be pressured by an outdated school of thought.”

Melbourne Stars captain Adam Zampa found himself in hot water after a Mankad attempt during the BBL clash with long distance rivals Melbourne Renegades on Tuesday night.

The incident happened in the Renegades innings final when Zampa tried to chase Tom Rogers to the non-attacking side after Rogers backed up too far.

Zampa, a regular for the Australian T20 team, crossed his bowling action and broke the stumps on the bowler’s side, catching Rogers well under his ground and then appealing for the wicket.

But because his bowling arm had crossed the vertical plane, Rogers was denied.

Taylor weighs in on Mankad

Germon pointed to a column in the Sydney Morning Herald by Greg Baum, which wrote on Wednesday: “If anything, it’s the non-striker who comes closest to harming the spirit of cricket in a Mankad. He’s defying the law. The pitcher is keeping him.”

Germon said he “couldn’t agree more” and believed the term Mankading should be dropped from the cricketing lexicon.

The term was named after Vinoo Mankad who twice missed Australian Bill Brown.

“Mankad has been vilified ever since, but for what? He did a legitimate act to dismiss a batter who was trying to gain an unfair advantage.

“Even the great Sir Donald Bradman said there was nothing wrong with what Vinoo Mankad did.”

Germon also said the third referee should watch whether or not the non-striker was in his crease, at least at the elite level.

For a daily dose of the best news and exclusive content from Wide World of Sports, subscribe to our newsletter by click here!

If you are the owner of the content and do not want us to publish your materials on our website, please contact us by email – at itipspedia@gmail.com The content will be deleted within 24 hours.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.