Ultimate magazine theme for WordPress.

Snoop Dogg, Gloria Estefan and Sade inducted into Songwriters Hall of Fame


NEW YORK (AP) — Snoop Dogg, Gloria Estefan, Sade, Jeff Lynne, Glen Ballard, Teddy Riley and Liz Rose have been chosen to join the Songwriters Hall of Fame, a class that includes writers of hits as varied as “Man In The Mirror”, “Drop It Like It’s Hot” and “Rhythm Is Gonna Get You”.

The seven songwriters from the Class of 2023 will be inducted at a gala on June 15 at the Marriott Marquis Hotel in New York City.

Snoop Dogg, whose hits include “Drop It Like It’s Hot” and “Gin & Juice,” will join rappers such as Missy Elliott and Jay-Z in the room. Estefan is credited with popularizing Latin rhythms with crossover hits such as “Rhythm Is Gonna Get You” and “Let’s Get Loud”.

Among the inductees are soul-jazz singer Sade, whose 1980s soft rock hits include ‘Smooth Operator’ and ‘The Sweetest Taboo’, and ELO’s Lynne, who wrote ‘Mr. Blue Sky’ and ‘ Evil Woman”.

“I am very happy with this honour. Songwriting has always been my passion. It means so much to me,” Lynne tweeted on Wednesday. Estefan took to Instagram to thank “all the amazing fans who, by listening to my music, made it possible for me to receive this incredible honor!”

Ballard helped write Alanis Morissette’s monster album ‘Jagged Little Pill’ in 1995 and has been involved in recording and writing several Michael Jackson albums, including ‘Thriller’, ‘Bad’ and ‘Dangerous’. “.

Riley, the singer, songwriter and producer, is credited with creating New Jack Swing and his best anthems like Bobby Brown’s “My Prerogative” and Keith Sweat’s “I Want Her”. Rose co-wrote many songs with Taylor Swift, including “You Belong with Me”, “Teardrops on My Guitar”, and “White Horse”.

The Class of 2023 “represents not only iconic songs, but also diversity and unity across gender, ethnicity and gender, songwriters who have enriched our lives and, in their time, literally transformed music and the lives of billions of listeners around the world,” said Nile Rodgers, the hall’s chairman.

At the end of last year, eligible voting members turned in ballots with their choices of three nominees from the songwriter category and three from the singer-songwriter category.

Some of the 2023 nominees who will have to wait include The Doobie Brothers, REM, Heart, Blondie, Bryan Adams, Patti Smith and Steve Winwood.

The Huffington Gt

If you are the owner of the content and do not want us to publish your materials on our website, please contact us by email – at itipspedia@gmail.com The content will be deleted within 24 hours.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.